Ronaldo-Messi era ends Modric is crowned world’s best

Messi gana su quinto Balón de Oro
Two new additions to France Football's Ballon d'Or for 2018

25 September, 2018

Messi and Ronaldo have shared the prize five times each over the past decade.

The award will also be presented on December 3, along with the Kopa Trophy and the Ballon d'Or itself.

Modric became the first player other than Ronaldo and Messi to lift FIFA's The Best award since Ricardo Kaka won it in 2007, ending the 10-year reign of the superstar duo. The Ballon d'Or has changed over time.

"The birth of the Ballon d'Or is a step further in the evolution of our sport, which is progressing well", France worldwide and Lyon star Wendie Renard told the magazine.

"It is a dream come true, to play for the best club in the world and to win trophies with them and also to be captain of Croatia, that is special to me", Modrić said after winning the earlier award.

The victor of the FIFA Award is picked after the votes are split between national coaches of FIFA Member Associations, their team captains, a select group of media from those countries, and fans.

'Mrs. Maisel' takes home seven Emmy awards
Scarlett Johansson walked alongside him as they made their Emmys debut on the gold carpet for Monday's show. Our crew, they work so hard and we put them through so much and they still like us.

Barcelona’s likely eleven to start the Champions League quest
I had a number of posters on my bedroom wall growing up, one of them was a Barcelona poster. "I always want to play to help, but I couldn't last season".

Browns close to trading Josh Gordon to Patriots
The Patriots coach will try to work the same magic with Gordon, a 6ft 3in, 225lb wideout with a dazzling blend of size and speed. Obviously, the Patriots are in desperate need of a dynamic receiver to stretch the field, and will be all season.

If Mohamed Salah is one of the three best players in the world then surely he should make it into the best XI in the world, right? Ronaldo also scored a memorable hat-trick in the FIFA World Cup but did not progress beyond the round of 16.

Several of Ronaldo's former Madrid teammates, including Sergio Ramos, Raphaël Varane and Marcelo will be there, after they were named in the FIFA Team of the Year.

Lyon boss Reynald Pedros did win the award for best women's coach, though, after winning the Champions League with the French giants.

The former Marseille, Juventus and Chelsea midfielder captained his country as they won the World Cup in 1998, before guiding them to victory again in Russian Federation in July.

The 33-year-old, joined Juventus this summer for a club record £100 million deal, after playing a crucial role in helping Real Madrid win a third straight Champions League title last season, his fifth in total, with 15 goals in the tournament.

N'golo Kante and Luka Modric were chosen in the centre of midfield, while Lionel Messi, Eden Hazard and Kylien Mbappe made up the first layer of the attack, with Cristiano Ronaldo completing the line-up.

More news