Murray Wins Davey O'Brien Award

Murray Wins Davey O'Brien Award
The Latest: AP top player Murray adds O’Brien; Tua wins Camp

09 December, 2018

Murray beat out Alabama's Tua Tagovailoa and Washington State's Gardner Minshew for the honor.

The Crimson Tide quarterback and fellow Heisman Trophy finalists Kyler Murray of Oklahoma and Dwayne Haskins of Ohio State were on Wall Street on Friday to ring the closing bell on a day the Dow Jones Industrial Average closed down 558 points. But right before the show started it was announced that Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa won the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award.

While Tagovailoa was voted the best player, he didn't win best quarterback. The Oklahoma quarterback topped Tagovailoa for the Davey O'Brien Award given to the nation's top quarterback.

Murray was the most exciting player in college football this season and his success has many thinking he could reverse course and choose the NFL over the Major League Baseball.

Japanese government is the latest to ban Huawei network equipment
He said she had denied to USA bankers any direct connections between Huawei and SkyCom, when in fact "SkyCom is Huawei". Meng Wanzhou, right, attends a bail hearing at British Columbia Supreme Court in Vancouver on Friday, Dec. 7, 2018.

Astrobotic Selected by NASA to be a Lunar Delivery Provider
Zurbuchen said the firms will compete to complete tasks NASA sets, but will be free to work out how they get there. Remarks made on Thursday, Nov. 29 reinforced NASA's assertion it was returning to the Moon.

Some migrant caravan members self-deporting as frustration grows in Tijuana
In response, CBP deployed additional personnel to San Ysidro in expectation of demonstrations on both sides of the border. About 7,500 migrants have arrived at the US-Mexican border in recent weeks.

Murray has thrown at least two touchdown passes in 12 of 13 games this season, and has thrown at least three TD passes in 10 contests. Only twice since 2002 has the AP Player of the Year not won the Heisman, Nebraska's Ndamukong Suh in 2009 and Stanford's Christian McCaffrey in 2015.

Named the AP Player of the Year earlier Thursday, Murray leads the nation in total yards (school-record 4,945), points responsible for (306), passing efficiency rating (205.7; FBS record is 198.9), yards per pass attempt (11.9; FBS record is 11.1) and yards per completion (16.8, tied).

Murray was Mayfield's backup last season and won the starter's job in preseason practice. Murray and Tagovailoa will face each other in the College Football Playoff, when No. 1 Alabama plays No. 4 Oklahoma at the Orange Bowl semifinal on December 29.

If Murray wins, it would be OU's seventh Heisman Trophy.

More news